On the Road with The Balancing Act!

My husband travels quite a bit for business and I have to admit, whenever he goes away, I get just a wee bit jealous. Shockingly though, whenever I tell him how envious I am over the fact that he gets to stay in a hotel and eat out every meal, he always shrugs and says, actually it’s kind of a drag and he’d rather be home.
To me, that is like saying I’d rather have Jello for dessert than warm chocolate lava cake.

In case you were wondering, the conversation usually goes something like this:

Him:  Honey, I have to go out of town on business for a couple of days.
Me: Sigh. You’re going to stay in a hotel aren’t you?
Him: No, actually I thought I would camp out under the stars, hunt for my dinner, and then cook it over an open fire in the middle of L.A. before my 9am presentation.
Me:  Sigh. That sounds nice, too.

For me, the idea of not having to make the bed, not having to cook a meal, not having to drive anyone anyplace at seven o’clock in the morning, not having to feed the dog, walk the dog, clean up after the dog, do the laundry, do the dishes, or do any of those other mom things for an entire day or two doesn’t sound like a drag. To me it sounds like a slice of lava cake HEAVEN.
This being the case, you can imagine my joy when I discovered that I would be going down to Raleigh, North Carolina to join “The Balancing Act” at the Southern Women’s Show.
This was no Jello outing. This was not even warm chocolate lava cake. This was the whole freakin’ bakery.

Not only will I be staying in a hotel and eating out every meal. I will be hanging out with fellow humor writer Lindsay Maddox of the “Silly Mom Thoughts” blog, who somehow manages to be hilariously funny even with four kids under the age of six running around (or crawling, as the case may be).  Plus I will be attending the Southern Women’s Show which is chockfull of fabulous exhibits and cool stuff for moms, AND I will get to rub elbows with bunches of cool southern moms who hopefully will like me in spite of the fact that I am from New Jersey and can’t do a fist pump to save my life.  But the icing on the cake is that I will be joining the hosts of “The Balancing Act,” which is a terrific show for moms on Lifetime Television, as they take the show on the road to entertain and inform the women of Raleigh.

Now don’t get me wrong… in no way am I annoyed about all the stuff I do as a mom. I chose to stay home and be with my kids and that is the greatest gift I ever gave myself.  Unfortunately, the chores come with the job description. Of course they are not as much fun as some of the other things I get to do as a mom, but it is all part of the package, and I’m ok with that.

And I do realize that travel has it’s downside… and I don’t just mean the fact that I have to cram all my beauty products into those 3oz bottles to make it through airport security.
The downside is I know that I will really miss my husband and kids while I’m away.
Making the beds, doing the laundry and all that other stuff?
Not so much.

©2011, Beckerman. All rights reserved.
To become a fan of Lost in Suburbia on Facebook, CLICK HERE
To follow me on Twitter, CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

