Sheesh!

I’m so heated right now that I’m banging at these keys.

I just had a visit from one of my parts suppliers and we got into a heated argument (ok I got heated and he laughed at me). He starts by telling my partner (a man) that his wife and kids were going away today so he was getting a vacation too.  I, of course,  piped up that “since he probably couldn’t take care of himself” it wouldn’t really be a vacation at all. At that point they had to goad me and started going on about women in the kitchen,  and how they should just be vacuuming and cleaning and I just let it go for awhile because they were doing it for my benefit.

It was just noise in my ears until Anthony (he dared me to out him) started in with how he grew up with 3 sisters and a mother who doted on him and he doesn’t even know how to iron. That’s the precise moment when I lost it. What moron doesn’t know “how to iron”? Please, if you can’t figure out how to lay out a piece of clothing and put a hot appliance on it, then you can’t do much of anything.  Men love to go to this line because they feel that ironing is beneath them and it drives me up the wall. Oh they’ll claim that woman can do it better so therefore it’s not an insult but it’s a load of crapola.

Photobucket

I started screaming at him, “I just laid 1,000 sq ft of slate tile in my house and I didn’t know how to do it, but I figured it out!”  His comeback “I really don’t know how to do it, I don’t know how to lay the crease out properly and the last time I tried, it was more wrinkled when I was done”.

Very few people like to iron (some of you do, I know) and most of us aren’t really that great at it (I confess) and in most cases  no one actually taught us how to do it, because it doesn’t take a brain surgeon to do a basic job.  Ladies, don’t let these guys get away with this, next time you hear that line don’t just chuckle, lunge for their jugulars.

 Ok, maybe not so aggressive, but please just say something, and remind them about how you figured out how to do this and that and they just need  to get a grip!

Addendum: Anthony just returned to see if I really wrote about him. This time he came with a coworker who just asked me “Elayne, I haven’t seen you in a while, have you gained weight?”  Really?

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

