Question:

I broke down the other day and found a garage with good reviews online like you suggested. I called them ahead of time to see how they treated me on the phone and they did suggest what could possibly be wrong with the car, but when I asked them how long it would take and how much it would be the mechanic wasn’t very patient with me. What did I do wrong? Angela

Photobucket

Answer:

Well first off thanks for following my advice but there’s always a fine line when dealing with these situations. I get these phone calls all the time. Caller: “Hi, my car makes a clunk when I go over a pot hole”. Me: “Bring it in we’ll check it out no problem”.  Caller: “Do you know how long it will take? I need to use it”.  Me: “How long what will take, I have no idea what’s really wrong with it, BRING IT OVER!”.  They immediately realize it was a ridiculous question and I do have to restrain myself from not barking at them so I wouldn’t completely hold it against them that they were curt with you. This goes back to my original advice about not letting the mechanic know that you nothing about your car. Questions like that fly in the face of that.

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

