BerryQuick Blueberry Popsicles

Photobucket

If 2010 was the Summer of the S’more, then I declare 2011 the Summer of the Popsicle. Homemade Popsicles using just about every combination of fruit, juice, cream, yogurt, chocolate, and then some are all the rage in food circles this year. They blow those plastic tubes of neon colored sugar water Popsicles I grew up out of the water!

My family discovered frozen fruit bars last summer. I felt better about serving a snack that is fruit and juice. It became spendy because a box never lasted more than a few days after I brought it home from the store.

Lo and behold, the winter holidays dropped a family gift of popsicle molds down our chimney. That meant I had six months to come up with a healthier alternative to a sugar laden drink mix popsicle recipe.

I’m sure this never happens to you, but I popsicle recipes steadily moved down my To Do List as never ending snowstorms and cold weather hit my area. The last thing I wanted to think about at the time was cold food.

Last week Mother Nature turned off the cold and turned up the heat to full blast. Perfect popsicle weather!

I rooted around in the refrigerator to see what I had. Hidden from my family of fruit piranhas were a few packages of Naturipe Berry Quick Blueberry Snacks I had leftover from two recent business trips. I tossed them in my tote bag to avoid unhealthy and high priced snacks at the airport and on the plane. Perfect!

BerryQuick Blueberry Popsicles

You will need:

1 package of Natureripe Berry Quick Snacks
1 cup of plain yogurt
1 teaspoon of vanilla
2 tablespoons of sugar

Make it:

1. Combine all of the ingredients in a blender until it is well blended.
2. Pour the mixture into popsicle molds and freeze in the freezer.
3. Remove the popsicle from the mold and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

