Reminder

One of our ex-interns who is now a full time mechanic came by to visit me today.

He went on to work in another shop and he comes by to see us from time to time. Today I showed him this blog and he immediately piped up with some of his

own advice.  His first comment was, “Tell women to stop telling mechanics that they know they’re robbing them”.  Being one of the few honest types out there

(I know this since I raised him),  he says this comment annoys him to such a

degree that if he was a more shifty type  it would cause him to overcharge someone just for kicks.

I do see his point, this comment puts you at a disadvantage as it shows your hand. You are telling him that you have no idea about you’re car, that you’re at his mercy and you are begging him not to rob you.  He even went on to say that some of his associates laugh about it behind the customer’s backs and discuss how they do take advantage of people who are naïve.

Photobucket

This is clearly no surprise to me. When I show my blog to people in the industry I get a pretty typical response. Mechanics tend to groan and suppliers laugh and wonder if any mechanics have “come after” me.

I guess we’ll call this entry a reminder of my first blog which was NEVER ADMIT YOU KNOW NOTHING ABOUT YOUR CAR!

I guess I’ll just have to keep reminding you.

Leave a Reply

