Can't Win

Sometimes, no matter what you do you just can’t win. Since we’ve moved to our new location I’ve had a problem getting on-time deliveries from a certain trucking company.

In my old location I could order parts online and they would arrive midday the next day and I could still fix the vehicle and get it back to the customer  in the same day. Since our move, the new driver would arrive close to 5pm. I did everything in my power to try to get him to bring it earlier. I utilized my usual arsenal which is a mix of flirtation, badgering, beseeching, bantering, teasing and flat out begging. None of it worked, he basically put his hand up, shut me down, said he’d try and returned the next day at 4:40. Never one to give up, I was still in the process of working this out when  my business partner (a very energetic manly man) ran into him in the local bodega (deli, convenience store for you non New Yorkers).  As the story goes, they hung out, had a couple of beers and jibber-jabbered . Yesterday he came by here and  they had a beer together.

Today he showed up with a delivery at 11:30. Yes 11:30.

Photobucket

I don’t know why I’m surprised by this, my partner has many ‘bromances” that I couldn’t begin to be involved in or even want to for that matter. I guess I shouldn’t be bothered by it since some of

time I’m the one to move things forward and sometimes it’s him. I guess that’s what a partnership

is but it still stings a little.

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

