Question:

Photobucket

I took my car to the car wash and this guy comes rushing out and tells me that I have a chip in my

windshield (which I am aware of, it’s a tiny little thing).  He went on to inform me that it is starting

to web and if I hit the smallest bump it will crack my whole windshield., BUT LUCKILY he can fix

it right there for me, all I have to do is call my insurance company and he has a few words with

them and I will be on my way in no time.  I said NO THANKS, are you proud of me?   Steve

Answer:

I AM proud of you Steve. While it’s true most people carry glass insurance on

their cars and the insurance company will cover a repair or replacement of the

glass, allowing just anyone to do the job is a big mistake. I’ve seen many vehicles

that have had new windows put in only to find them leaking within a very short

period of time. I’ve seen poorly installed glass break, way before it’s time and I’ve

even seen the wrong glass put in. As with everything else I have instructed do

your due diligence ahead of time and make sure you’re going to a reputable

installer not any yahoo who approaches you.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Sept. 23, 2011 Addendum: I was watching the Balancing Act this morning and coincidently (I swear) Safelite was on talking about fixing windshields.

I have used this company and I can vouch for them and am happy to do it!

I just love when things are symbiotic!

Leave a Reply

