Not Too Sunny!

Buying a new car can be a tricky experience, and I mean tricky in every sense of the word. It’s bad enough you have to check the prices from dealer to dealer to get the best deal, you also never feel like the salesmen are being honest with you. On top of that you’re not even sure what type of car you really want and figuring that out is very time consuming. Now I have more news for you that might make it even more confusing. You finally decide on that vehicle you want but you really want leather seats and a sunroof and they don’t have those in stock. The dealer informs you they can get it for you if you wait a week, so you decide to go for it, the bad news, DON’T DO IT!

Unless a vehicle comes from the factory with these options installed, the dealer will send the vehicle out to a local installer and have them put in. I had an SUV here last week with a leaky sunroof. Upon further investigation we came to find out that even though it was purchased new, the dealer had sent the vehicle out to have the sunroof installed and it was done incorrectly. According to my sunroof and upholstery technician they installed the sunroof 1/2” off, which means that no matter what repairs we might do, it will never be right. This particular customer had previously taken it back to the dealer 3x for the leaky sunroof but the aftermarket installer that had originally installed it had gone out of business. The dealer, of course, didn’t have a clue of how to fix it and just made it worse.

Then there’s the issue of the leather seats. I’ve seen fairly new cars with the stitching coming loose and/or the cheapest leather used and wearing out. If you must, must, must have them, find a local installer to do it for you. Not only will it be a fraction of the price ($1000 vs $4000), but if something goes wrong you can go directly back to them. Point of this story is that if the extra’s aren’t installed at the factory then don’t bother. I know the idea of finding a local installer sounds overwhelming and just ridiculous to do to a new car but I promise you it’s what the dealer is doing and making a mint off you to do it. The best bet is to just do without it.

My new vehicle doesn’t have a sunroof and I thought I would miss it, I didn’t even remember that until I started to write this so I guess I’m doing just fine without it. Sometimes we fool ourselves into thinking we MUST have something but really we can get past it and still live, I promise you, I’m still alive and well.

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

