I Am Self Published

Photobucket

A few hours ago, I joined my desire to write a book with my XOXO of photography and self-published a soft-bound publication through Lulu Press. It is being printed as I write this blog! My 21-page photo book measures 5 1/4″ by 3 1/2″ and has about 150 words and17 original photographs. I called it “The Colorful Counting Book.” It is not destined for adult book clubs, but rather may feel more welcome slipped into a purse before setting out on a cross-town bus with a toddler.

“13 silver shoes” did not make the cut because I felt my niece wouldn’t relate to the old styles
Putting it together was fairly easy considering that I was totally winging it as I uploaded from my vast bank of photos and dragged them onto the pages. I knew that I wanted to make a unique book for my 2 1/2 year old niece. Tired of predictable imagery and licensed characters found in many children’s books, I used photos taken from travels, flea markets, and numerous saunters down the aisles of antique malls. Beyond counting things and identifying colors, I chose photos that can easily spur other conversations and motivate your toddler’s imagination.

Conversely, “4 feet” did make the cut.
Self-published books are creative and thoughtful gifts. They can also be moneymakers. I did not make this book with the intention of selling it, although a Lulu rep, featured on “The Balancing Act” on Lifetime Television, spoke about a woman who self-published a cookbook on the site and sold quite a number of them. If sales happen for this book, well…that’d be a nice surprise. But i want to preview it, hold it in my hands, and judge the quality before I promote it.

I will have an update on “The Colorful Counting Book” on the 26th.

I have a feeling this could be the start of something addictive.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

