Aw, What a Cute Puppy!

Aw What a Cute Puppy! Have you noticed how many advertisements have those cute little lab puppies in them? You know why that is right? They are one of the cutest puppies around! Like everyone in my family I love cats and dogs. Growing up as a child we always had animals… cats, dogs, hamsters, birds, you name it! Would I have helped someone who was looking for their missing puppy? Just like any other kid I wanted to help, but we were always told to stay away from strangers. And be especially careful of anyone claiming to have lost an animal or offering candy. Naturally like any other good parent I have instilled the same values in my children, nieces, nephews, etc… So now let me tell you a story about my daughter’s best friend in school. Like with any BFF she went everywhere with us, including family vacations. She would get to hear all of the life lessons learned by kids traveling in a car on vacation. We treated her like our own and watched her just the same. Returning from one of our summer road trips we happen to stop at one of the popular fast food restaurants for a break and French fries (the diet of preteen girls). Like all kids, they didn’t want to wait for the parents so they rushed outside to the car. Needless to say I was shocked when I walked outside to find “the friend” leaning into the car next to us saying “aw what a cute puppy! I couldn’t believe it! The crazy thing is that the male occupant of the car didn’t stop her. Now maybe it was all harmless but I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Thinking about it now something didn’t seem right. An older man with a puppy on his lap sitting outside a fast food restaurant by the playground? Maybe I am being too suspicious, but wouldn’t you think that the person in the car would have discouraged her or reminded her about talking to strangers? That probably happened 8-10 years ago and I remember it like it was yesterday. Recently my daughter (now older) found a lab puppy. It’s absolutely adorable! Grandma who is an animal lover doesn’t have a dog so she was the first choice of who to give it to. Now here’s a lucky animal that receives royal treatment! Of course we promised to pet sit when she goes on vacation. Well grandma already had a vacation planned so we began our week of puppy sitting forAw What a Cute Puppy! Have you noticed how many advertisements have those cute little lab puppies in them? You know why that is right? They are one of the cutest puppies around! Like everyone in my family I love cats and dogs. Growing up as a child we always had animals… cats, dogs, hamsters, birds, you name it! Would I have helped someone who was looking for their missing puppy? Just like any other kid I wanted to help, but we were always told to stay away from strangers. And be especially careful of anyone claiming to have lost an animal or offering candy. Naturally like any other good parent I have instilled the same values in my children, nieces, nephews, etc… So now let me tell you a story about my daughter’s best friend in school. Like with any BFF she went everywhere with us, including family vacations. She would get to hear all of the life lessons learned by kids traveling in a car on vacation. We treated her like our own and watched her just the same. Returning from one of our summer road trips we happen to stop at one of the popular fast food restaurants for a break and French fries (the diet of preteen girls). Like all kids, they didn’t want to wait for the parents so they rushed outside to the car. Needless to say I was shocked when I walked outside to find “the friend” leaning into the car next to us saying “aw what a cute puppy! I couldn’t believe it! The crazy thing is that the male occupant of the car didn’t stop her. Now maybe it was all harmless but I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Thinking about it now something didn’t seem right. An older man with a puppy on his lap sitting outside a fast food restaurant by the playground? Maybe I am being too suspicious, but wouldn’t you think that the person in the car would have discouraged her or reminded her about talking to strangers? That probably happened 8-10 years ago and I remember it like it was yesterday. Recently my daughter (now older) found a lab puppy. It’s absolutely adorable! Grandma who is an animal lover doesn’t have a dog so she was the first choice of who to give it to. Now here’s a lucky animal that receives royal treatment! Of course we promised to pet sit when she goes on vacation. Well grandma already had a vacation planned so we began our week of puppy sitting for Snickers as promised and I found myself on the other side of “aw, what a cute puppy”! We took Snickers with us everywhere that she was allowed. I was completely amazed how many complete strangers walked up to us to play with her. We took her to a bonfire the first night and a woman actually swooped her up off the ground to snuggle with her. Remember, we teach women and girls how to escape from a potential attack so I was starting to feel funny when kids and young girls were walking up to play with Snickers. Obviously not because I didn’t want them to play with her, but because the parents weren’t around! I am a good person and I live in a relatively safe community but the parents had no way to know that. Over the weekend we were at an outside café and a little girl came up to pet Snickers. Her parents were inside. I told she needed to be with her parents and then she could play with the puppy. She could have been kidnapped before they knew what happened. It’s sad that as much as the world has changed, the oldest gimmicks are still around. Please make sure your children aren’t the victim of a missing puppy scenario. Remind your children that if an adult is asking for help they should go tell their parents, teachers, or another adult. Tracy Vega- Simple Self Defense for Women Snickers as promised and I found myself on the other side of “aw, what a cute puppy”! We took Snickers with us everywhere that she was allowed. I was completely amazed how many complete strangers walked up to us to play with her. We took her to a bonfire the first night and a woman actually swooped her up off the ground to snuggle with her. Remember, we teach women and girls how to escape from a potential attack so I was starting to feel funny when kids and young girls were walking up to play with Snickers. Obviously not because I didn’t want them to play with her, but because the parents weren’t around! I am a good person and I live in a relatively safe community but the parents had no way to know that. Over the weekend we were at an outside café and a little girl came up to pet Snickers. Her parents were inside. I told she needed to be with her parents and then she could play with the puppy. She could have been kidnapped before they knew what happened. It’s sad that as much as the world has changed, the oldest gimmicks are still around. Please make sure your children aren’t the victim of a missing puppy scenario. Remind your children that if an adult is asking for help they should go tell their parents, teachers, or another adult.

Leave a Reply

