Sorry

sor·ry
[sor-ee, sawr-ee]

1. feeling regret, compunction, sympathy, pity, etc.: to be sorry to leave one’s friends; to be sorry for a remark; to be sorry for someone in trouble.

This will be another one of my off topic blogs,  sometimes things happen and I just have to comment on it. This is a message to women that I just can’t shut up about. Yesterday was a gorgeous day here in NY and I took my work outside and sat in the sun. I perched myself on the steps of a building next door and was chatting with a customer who was waiting for us to finish her car. While sitting there, behind me, the door to the building I was sitting in front of opened and I was clearly blocking the way of the woman who stepped out. Before I could even open my mouth she was apologizing to me, I guess because I needed to move. My customer and I at the same time time blurted out “why are you saying you’re sorry to us, clearly we need to be apologizing”.  This launched a conversation into why women always feel the need to say sorry. This practice just needs to stop, and right NOW!  The correct term in this situation and most situations  is, “excuse me”. As you know, I deal with men and not only do they not say sorry all day, you can’t get them to say it when they really should. I run into this constantly. When I’m in the gym locker room the women are in competition for who can it say it more while we try to navigate around each other.

What are women so sorry about? Is it just that they’ve had it drilled into them that they need to be excused? Do they have a need to tiptoe around without any rights and therefore they’re sorry to have to ask you to move? Is it possibly that they are more concerned than men with the feelings of others and therefore want to head off any bad ones?  Frankly I really don’t get it and  I don’t really care why, it just needs to stop. I’m tired of having to continually say “you have nothing to apologize for”.

I know women are making great strides out there in the world so I’m here to put my 2 cents in and remind you that this is an area that we (that would be the proverbial “we” because I can assure you I rarely apologize for anything, lol) need to work on.

So next time that word is about to pop out your mouth think first, “am I really sorry or is this your fault…you cow!”. Ok maybe not the cow part but you know what I mean.

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

