Question: I recently bought a new car and was wondering if I need to take it to the dealer for an oil change or can I get it done anywhere? -Dan

Answer:

Thanks Dan, I’ve been meaning to write about this. Many years ago I bought a new car. My ex (and current business partner) had suggested that we take it into the dealer for our first oil change. I couldn’t understand why since we owned a repair shop but to appease him I called to find out what the story was. I asked how much for an oil change and was told $79, I said that was very quite a bit (still expensive even 20 years later) and I was told there were other things included. When I inquired as to what else was included, the answer was: an oil change, check your belts and hoses and fluids etc. I then asked if they charged to check those things and they told me no. So I said so it’s $79 just for an oil change and they said no and we went around in the same circle again. Needless to say I got transferred to the parts department where I ordered some dealer oil filters so we could change it ourselves. The dealer isn’t offering anything that you can’t get cheaper elsewhere (as long as it’s somewhere you trust), so save some money and find a good local mechanic. As long as you change the oil regularly and can prove it (keep all your records) they can’t void your warranty. Don’t let them scare you!

Questions:dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

