Join A Party! 2012 Chick Lit Author Blog Hop Begins Today

Did you know that May is International Chick Lit Month? I have to confess, I didn’t. But as soon as I found out, I had to be a part of the celebration!

Chick Lit, Chick Lit, Chick Lit. I said it fast the other day, excited to be part of a newly formed author blog hop honoring Chick Lit that begins on May 14th. I should have enunciated clearer.

“Are you talking about that gum, chicklets?”

I rolled my eyes thinking of the candy-coated gum. When will I learn to slow down when I speak?

“No, I am talking about writing, books, you know, Chick Lit.” I formed the two words carefully.

We’ve all heard the term Chick Lit but do we really know what the genre covers? Some people give it a bad rap.

“Romantic fluff. I never read it.” A friend of mine had her nose up in the air.

“Well you read my memoir, my widow story, and loved it. That’s Chick Lit too, you know.”

“Really?”

Yes, really.

Let’s talk briefly about this misunderstood genre.

Chick Lit books are mainly written by women for women. The characters range from early twenties to past middle age. The stories, whether fiction or non-fiction memoir, have a light, personal, and humorous tone to them. They revolve around issues real women have in their daily lives: romance, dating, jobs, friendships, jealousy, weight, family. Chick Lit can be frothy, it can be deadly serious in topic.

Is there a difference between regular women’s fiction and Chick Lit? The answer is a big “yes”. Chick Lit books are written in a personal, confiding tone. It is like having a good friend talk about her life over a cup of tea. Humor plays an important role in the delivery of the plot. At the end of the book, the reader feels she has been on a journey with someone she has gotten to know. They have laughed and cried together.

Tracie Banister, author of “Blame It On The Fame”, decided it was time to give this underappreciated genre a bit of promotion. She pulled thirty-four authors together to celebrate a week of Chick Lit writing complete with a grand prize and e-book giveaways on each of the author blogs. I am excited to be included in this great event!

Start on Tracie’s blog http://traciebanister.blogspot.com/ . You can link to the other authors on this hop from her blog. Each blog has a secret word in italics, collect all thirty-four and you are entered in a drawing for a $150 Sephora gift certificate. Leave a comment on every blog and you might win an e-book. Directions are clear on how to proceed once you hit the first blog.

You might be surprised to find some of your favorite books and movies fall under the heading Chick Lit.

Happy reading and happy blog hopping!

Barbara Barth

CEO of Life

Leave a Reply

