Theresa – Climbs Mt. Kilimanjaro

I have seen the loss of a loved one from as close as it can get—as a sister, a daughter and then as a mother. My brother died of a heart attack at 23. My Dad died at a young age. My 19-year old son died in a car accident 5 years ago. I’ve lived life as a divorced, single mom, raising two children on my own, struggling to make ends meet. Yes, I was angry, sad and emotionally distraught. I could have ended up being very bitter and my life would be only downhill from then on.

Instead, I decided to get into the driving seat, change gears and hit the road with the thought—look to the horizon, enjoy the journey, make friends with life and help change lives one small step at a time. That’s what I am trying to do.

One of my biggest accomplishments happened last summer when I climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro for the Child Legacy International Foundation.  I went last summer as the 1st Annual group of climbers to benefit the children of Malawi raising in excess of $30,000.  I helped other Child Legacy International volunteers dig wells in the poorest parts of Malawi so children don’t die from diseases spread by unclean water.  I lost my son. I don’t want anyone to see their child die in their lifetime.  I took up the challenge to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro with the same group that went to Malawi.  I contracted a severe parasitic infection but made it to the summit by the sheer fire in my belly and the love in my heart for the people of Malawi.  I know my life has a purpose, a meaning, a strong calling. My work here isn’t done yet. My son beat me to completing his work here on earth; but I have mountains to climb before I can say farewell…there are no shortcuts.

The second annual Mt. Kilimanjara climb is set for July…. To find out how you can get involved in Child Legacy International and the Cleanwaterclimp project, visit www.cleanwaterclimb.net or http://www.childlegacy.org .

By: Theresa Roemer www.theresaroemer.com

Leave a Reply

