Sandy

Oh what a lovely few days it’s been. Here’s what I wrote on my Facebook page.

I’m living 2 different lives. By day I’m an affluent person who owns a business in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. By night I’m a pauper who lives in a hovel in the East Village with no power, cell, internet, hot water or heat!”

I’m now staying with a friend uptown, which has been great but a bit of an ordeal.

Last night it took me 1.5 hours to drive 40 blocks in Manhattan, total gridlock.

The buses were running but you couldn’t get on them they were so packed. I had

to transport my dog so I couldn’t even take one if I wanted to. I picked up a young

woman who was frantically trying to flag a taxi (a futile experience), she looked

at me like I was insane when I rolled my window down and asked if she wanted

a ride. Being a New Yorker (even a new one, she’s only been here a couple of months)

she was justifiably skeptical, but I convinced her I was going uptown with a big

empty SUV, I might as well give her a ride. Of course she probably could have

walked faster (if she didn’t have 2 bags) but we finally broke free and got to

our destination.

Today at work, where thankfully we have full power and were pretty much

spared all problems, we are seeing numerous drowned cars, broken windows,

and tree crushed vehicles.  The latter 2 are fixable, the drowned cars are

another story. Many of them are wet from a combination of sea water and

fresh. When things get that wet they’re pretty much doomed but more so when

there is salt water. Many people don’t have full insurance coverage on their cars either

so repairs will be out of pocket. If you’ve read my previous blogs you know that

I will do my best to help them source out used and after market parts to keep

the price down as best I can.

Even the cars that are undamaged are debilitated by the lack of gas in the

area. Long lines of people for the few stations that have power and gas and

many fights breaking out.

We will get through this but we will be exhausted by the time it’s all over.

Good thing I had a short vacation into the sunshine planned for next week,

the airports better be up and running!

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

