The Sounds of the Season

I wrote last week about trains and my love of trains. Since then I have encountered 3 extremely long trains while driving. I think it was to show their appreciation for my recommendation of trains and train rides. So this week, I decided to write about banks at the holidays so they can show their appreciation. (Just kidding. A girl can dream can’t she?)

Seriously, we are a little more than a week from Christmas. That means that the last of the Christmas blogs is here. (I hope that isn’t cheering I hear) As you know, I try to find some theme relating to the events that I highlight. This Christmas I talked about parades; lighted, Thanksgiving, Christmas, boat and children’s. I gave a look at some of the biggest holiday events, some “hassle free” events and some train events. When I was thinking about the season coming to a close this week I was wondering if there would be enough events taking place to find an interesting theme for this weeks finale. And would it be a theme that I could translate as exciting.

Well no fear. It seems that in my previous Christmas blogs these past few weeks I overlooked an aspect of utmost importance to the holiday season; music. I personally listen to Christmas carols everyday this time of year. I play Christmas music while putting up my decorations and at all my holiday get-togethers. And although this year I am having some reception issues on my stereo, I sing along with the static anyway. (I was in the chorus all 4 years in high school so no cracks about the static BEING my singing). I listed a wide variety of musical events. There are Philharmonic Orchestras, “Pop” Orchestras, Professional Choirs, church choirs and even town sing-a-longs; something for everyone! Any one of these events is an excellent way to spend the last weekend before Christmas. As always, be sure to check the search box for events in your area and enjoy some beautiful Christmas music with someone you love.

I hope that you have enjoyed reading about the holiday events and all the events I have highlighted this year. I hope I have given a great mix of events and a variety of suggestions to make it more exciting. All the while, I tried to share some personal memories with you and I appreciate the fact that you all indulged me. I think of this blog as a weekly chance to talk with my friends about things that they might find enjoyable in the world of events. Along the way I inject these personal musing as I would with any of my friends. Let’s face it, this is not the “Great American Novel” nor award winning journalism. Rather I like to think of it more as if we are having a conversation over dinner and drinks at my home discussing what is going on this week in the world of events. The emails from my “friends” who read my blog every week allow the conversations to continue. These emails let me know that I have allowed many of you to relive memories and make new ones. I love knowing that. The fact that you share it with me is a wonderful part of what I do here. I personally answer each and every email that I receive. I encourage all of you to share your thoughts with me. And I hope that you all have a wonderful holiday sharing dinner and drinks with those that you love. From my family to your family, we wish you all a very Merry Christmas.

Sincerest Regards,

Maria

Holiday Sing Along

Dec 22, 2012

Walt Disney Concert Hall Los Angeles, CA US 90012

Lift your voice and sing along in an all-new gathering of favorite Christmas and holiday songs. Julie Andrews will recite holiday poems. Lyric sheets will be provided to all.

Community Carol Sing

Dec 23, 2012

Mystic Seaport Museum Mystic, CT US 06355

Since 1955. The Museum’s carolers will perform a holiday concert in the Greenmanville Church at 2 p.m. and the carol sing will commence in Anchor Circle at 3 p.m. Visitors from near and far return year after year to participate in this popular holiday carol sing, which is led by former Ledyard High School choral director, Jamie Spillane, and backed by the Museum Carolers and a brass quartet. *Free admission will be given to Museum visitors all day with the donation of a non-perishable canned good item. All contributions will be donated to and distributed by the Pawcatuck Neighborhood Center.
8,000 Attendees

Christmas with The Romeros and Concerto Malaga

Dec 22, 2012

The American Theatre Hampton, VA US 23663

How could you miss this one? The first family of Guitar (Quartets) is joined by a wonderful 13 piece string orchestra. Known to millions as The Royal Family of Guitar, the Romeros were founded in 1960 by the legendary Celedonio Romero with his three sons. Today the quartet is composed of the second and third generations. They have performed for Kings and Queens, Presidents and Prime Ministers and now they are here to perform for you with the remarkable string orchestra, Concerto Malaga. Happy Christmas. Feliz Navidad.

Phoenix Chorale: Gaudette! A Chorale Christmas

Dec 20, 2012 – Dec 21, 2012

Brophy Chapel Phoenix, AZ US 85012

Rejoice in the season! Join us for these popular holiday concerts featuring a well-rounded balance of beloved holiday favorites mixed with exciting new pieces sure to energize your holiday cheer. Our Christmas concerts are around the corner – celebrate the spirit of the season with us! We’ll sing your favorite Christmas carols including Angels We Have Heard on High, Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming and Hark! The Herald Angels [Sing]. The 5-concert series features special guests, Paradise Winds, along with four unique arrangements of the 16th Century carol Gaudete (meaning “rejoice”). And we’re honoring the memory of one of our beloved former conductors, Anders Öhrwall, performing his joyful arrangement of Gaudete.

New York Philharmonic Handel’s Messiah

Dec 22, 2012

Avery Fisher Hall New York City, NY US 10023

Hallelujah! The Philharmonic performs Handel’s Messiah with conductor Emmanuelle Haïm.

Christmas Choir Sing

Dec 21, 2012

The Colonial Center for the Performing Arts South Hill, VA US 23970

The Colonial Center of South Hill Join in the celebration of Christmas with performances from many local and area church and community choirs. It will be an evening great for the whole family to enjoy the season of joy and giving.

Bowfire – Holiday Heart Strings

Dec 21, 2012

Majestic Theater Gettysburg, PA US 17325

Celebrate the festive season with some of the world’s greatest fiddlers and violinists playing all-time holiday favorites. In addition, enjoy their singing and step dancing. Tickets $52.00

Holiday Songs Begin with the World’s Opposites!

Dec 23, 2012

Aesthetic Realism Foundation New York, NY US 10012

The acclaimed Aesthetic Realism Theatre Co. performs choruses from Handel’s Messiah and Judas Maccabaeus, Carrie Wilson, soloist; and holiday songs including “The Little Drummer Boy,” “Un Flambeau, Jeannette, Isabelle!,” “Who Can Retell” and more! All with moving deep commentary about the meaning of these songs to our lives now!
100 Attendees

The Florida Orchestra: A Holiday Pops

Dec 21, 2012

Straz Center for the Performing Arts Center Tampa, FL US 33602

The 150 voices of The Master Chorale join the orchestra in this holiday celebration for the entire family with such musical chestnuts as Jingle Bells, Winter Wonderland, Sleigh Ride, Hanukkah in Santa Monica and beloved Christmas carols such as Joy to the World, The Twelve Days of Christmas, O Come, All Ye Faithful and more. Canned Food Donations: Concertgoers are invited to bring canned food donations for Tampa Bay Harvest for their food bank services to help others during the holiday season.

Columbiana County (Ohio) Messiah Choir 2012 Concert

Dec 22, 2012

Main Street Theater Columbiana, OH US 44408

Under the direction of Randy Hart, the 30-member volunteer choir will sing selections from Handel’s “Messiah”. Selections will include “For Unto Us a Child is Born” and “Hallelujah Chorus. Soloist Sarah W. Vodrey will sing “Oh Thou That Tellest Good Tidings to Zion”. Other soloists are Sally Bricker, Peggy Elliott, Barbara Bailey, and Andrew Lawlor. December 22 (Sat.) at 7pm, at the Main Street Theater, 5 North Main St., Columbiana, Ohio. No tickets or reservations needed. Free. For more information go to: https://mmm1109.verio-web.com/themu1/ccmc/index.html

Philadelphia Orchestra The Glorious Sounds of Christmas

Dec 20, 2012 – Dec 22, 2012

Kimmel Center Philadelphia, PA US 19102

Named for the Orchestra’s best-selling Christmas album, these concerts are an ideal way to begin your celebrations on a joyous note! The Orchestra lends its lush ‘Philadelphia Sound’ to an evening of timeless holiday favorites. Held in Verizon Hall.

The Christmas Show

Dec 26, 2012 – Dec 30, 2012

American Music Theatre Lancaster, PA US 17602

Our critically acclaimed Christmas Show is back with an all-new presentation of the songs and traditions you know and love. Featuring spectacular vocals, fabulous dancing, lots of light hearted moments, and a visit by Santa himself, the Christmas Show is guaranteed to get you in the holiday spirit!

Maria can be reached directly at eventsblog@eventcrazy.com or visit her website at www.eventcrazy.com
Copyright © 1998-2012 Events Media Network, Inc. All Rights Reserved Worldwide. Photos are copyright of their respective owners.

Leave a Reply

