Bump in the Day

I took a Caribbean Island vacation over the holidays and rented a Jeep Wrangler while there. I happen to love Jeeps and Wranglers are very high on my love list, BUT this rental was the biggest hunk of junk. One issue was the front passenger seat was broken and wouldn’t move forward. Anyone getting into the back seat, they had to climb over. The first few days it was a couple of very limber young men going in and out, so it was fine. But when a 2nd friend of mine showed up well it was a bit of a battle. There was a constant refrain from the rear of “Ouch” as someone smacked their head on the roll bar. I was the designated driver so it never happened to me. This can only be fun on a island vacation because it gets old real quickly.

Another main issue was that the soft top was completely torn and fairly unusable so during the few tropical storms we had, well lets just say we laughed quite a bit.

The most egregious issue we had though was the registration sticker on the front windshield was expired so we got pulled over by the police and I was issued a summons. Can you believe that I DIDN’T NOTICE THAT AND GOT A TICKET?? I chalk up my temporary lack of diligence to being on a long needed break, I was shocked as well but hey, I was on vacation.

When I turned the car in you can bet I complained and they did issue me a partial refund. So don’t feel so bad when you may not notice something on your vehicle that should be obvious, even when I pick on you about it.

Anyway, I had a great time on my trip and I do still love me some Jeep, even funky ones!

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

