Reliving the Nightmare

I have some form of neutrophilic dermatosis. Sweet’s Syndrome is a close diagnosis. I have either a very rare variant Sweet’s or another form of neutrophilic dermatosis yet to be determined. The following is a series of photos of my skin from my last bad breakouts (I still have daily breakouts, but I have not had a breakout this bad since.)

I am finally willing to share a few more of my photos from my outbreak last July. I have been hesitant to share more because every time I see them I actually remember that pain and have a physical reaction.

I’ll be updating this post again soon with photos from July 29 if I can find them.

July 28, Day 2

High Fever, Chills, Severe Pain

LEFT ARM

RIGHT ARM

SHOULDERS
This is also how my chest looked. My chest is still scarred more than six months later.

CLOSEUP OF LEGS (notice the white edges, then red and purple inside)
This is how my upper legs looked all over, front and back. My buttocks, stomach and lower back also were covered like this.

FOREHEAD
Trust me, this is far more painful than it looks.

RIGHT HAND
Notice the edema. My entire body was swollen, but it was most noticeable in the hands.

LOWER LEGS (Upper legs were so much worse, but I’m still not ready to share those photos.)

July 29, Day 2

This is after I got home from the ER, where I had been all day. Notice how “inflated” my hands and fingers are.

RIGHT HAND
Notice how swollen my hand is in the second photo below. The bullus spots look like giant blisters.

LEFT HAND

July 30, Day 3

This is the day after my visit to the ER and after 80 mg of Prednisone.

RIGHT ARM

RIGHT HAND
With Biopsy Site

LEFT HAND

By: Rhonda Negard

Rhonda was diagnosed with Sweet’s Syndrome in July 2012 after suffering from its symptoms for 16 months. This rare disease has taken its toll on her body but not her spirit. She releases her frustrations by blogging about the disease in order to spread awareness to the media, medical community and the public. Her goal is for the medical community to learn about this horrible disease so patients will be diagnosed sooner. More research for effective treatments, beyond long-term corticosteroids, is the second goal. The more research that is done, the sooner an effective treatment, or even a cure, will be identified. All of this means less suffering for those with Sweet’s Syndrome. Rhonda is married to a military serviceman and works from her home as a graphic designer. notsosweets.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

