Buying Spendy Sprouts? Grow them the Cheap and Lazy Way Instead

When they are not mush because I forgot I had them in the refrigerator, I like to kick up my sandwiches and salads with sprouts. I forget so often it doesn’t make sense for me to buy a container of sprouts at the store because my compost bin ends up eating more of them than I do.

It makes more sense for me to grow alfalfa sprouts in small batches on my kitchen windowsill. I am an even lazier gardener than I am a cook. If I can do it, you can too!

Alfalfa spouty goodness

The equipment and directions were simple. The most difficult part was finding and buying alfalfa spout seeds. This really wasn’t hard, I bought the seeds at my Home and Garden show. Health food stores sell sprouting seeds too.

You will need:

  • Alfalfa seeds
  • A sprouter, either a jar with a screen lid (lazy way and already in my house) or buy a seed sprouter.
  • A rubber band or canning jar lid used to attach the screen to the jar (if needed.)
  • Water
  • A small dish or plate is a good idea too, to catch any water that drips out of the jar – experience talking here.

I used a plastic net bag that held fresh garlic for the screen. You can also use muslin, window screen, or netting that allows air to reach the seeds. Some people even use clean pieces of old pantyhose.

Grow it:

1. Put 1 tablespoon of seeds in the jar and cover with 1 cup of water.

2. Attach the screen to the jar and let the seeds soak overnight.

3. The drain the water from the jar/sprouter through the cloth/mesh lid 24 hours later.

4. Rinse the seeds with fresh water and drain the sprouter. Lay the jar on its side or put the tray back in the sprouter in the sun. Sprouts don’t like full sunlight because it can cause the seeds to overheat or dry out. This describes our kitchen window to a T. Perfect!

5. Drain and rinse the seeds twice a day. I rinse my seeds in the morning after breakfast and in the evening after dinner.

6. When the sprouts have grown to their desired height open the jar and chow down!

The first batch of sprouts was delicious! I used them to make my favorite sandwich: Dijon mustard, tomato, Munster cheese, and sprouts, on whole wheat bread. The compost bin didn’t get any of it.

Leave a Reply

