Tipsy Turvy

A delivery guy just came with the lunch I ordered for me and my mechanics. He puts the food on my desk and says “$16”. I pull out a $20 and hand it over and he says, “Do you need change?” Boy, do I hate that question. “Yes, I need change, $4 please”, is what I should have said. Instead, I gave some attitude and said “Um, Yes”,  he followed it up with, “How much?” So I said “$3”. I would have given him $2 if he’d kept his mouth shut. I should have given him nothing.

I also can’t bear it in a restaurant when the waitress/waiter asks, “Do you need change?”.  It’s so ridiculously inappropriate, just bring the change, don’t assume you’re getting a tip. There was a time that tips were earned, now they’re mandatory. Sometimes the service is so bad you really don’t want to give a dime, but you feel obligated because you know their boss isn’t paying them a proper wage.

The main reason it drives me insane is that I pay my employees a good wage and any tips they earn are great, some extra funds. My employees do so much more than spend an hour bringing someone food. They can work for days on a particular car, burning and cutting themselves and never squawk. They may or may not get tipped at the end, sometimes I will suggest it to a customer, but it’s certainly never demanded. They are so grateful when someone does tip them. I’m often asked, “What is the proper amount to tip?”, there really is no easy answer and I really hate giving them any ideas. I always say tip what feels right to you. Some people think $5 feels right while others feel that $100 is, my guys appreciate both. Some people even try to tip me, I usually follow that up with “No thanks, but I do accept gifts!”

Also, don’t get me started on the “No problem” response to things. I know it’s no problem, I’m paying for this service and it’s your job, so if it is a problem then you should find employment elsewhere!

So, next time someone insists you tip them, take into consideration what they’ve done to deserve it, and if someone does something for you and doesn’t ask for one, think about that too. The world can be very topsy turvy sometimes.

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

