Air Conditioning Troubles

Question: 

I’ve had to go back to my mechanic three times, now, to fix my AC. What gives? He keeps telling me a different story…is he just robbing me?

Answer:

Well ,of course he might just be robbing you. (No question about that.) BUT…AC failure can be very difficult to diagnose. The Freon (not really called that anymore – but I still do) is a gas and can leak out of countless places. You can fix one spot only to have it leak out of another, and possibly from a spot that can’t be seen. You can spend over $1,000 dollars on new compressors, driers and accumulators, only to find that a hose is now leaking or you need a new condenser too.

It’s endless with AC.  Just ask a lot of questions and make any mechanic show you exactly what he’s doing…and make sure he’s not charging you over and over for the Freon.

I have a policy when I’m doing a job for someone: They get charged once for Freon in any given summer. If the new Freon leaks out and a customer has already paid me for one fill-up, then the follow fill-ups are on me. Also please note that your mechanic should be saving and recycling the old Freon.

Good luck, stay cool!

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

